Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Thread: Thoughts after 2-3 months of play

Pathfinder
    World
    Newfoundland

Thoughts after 2-3 months of play

I have been playing the game for a few months now, lvl 33, here are my thoughts...

The main issue for me is there are too many different tiers of waiting times.
    Once a day fields and water needs sorting and provision house managed.
    2 or 3 times a day buffs need to be applied to gold mines etc
    At various increments of time from 1min to 4 hours prospectors are sent out
    At 6hr or 12 or 24h explorers need to be sent out
    Generals being sent out takes 30min
    From ordering a general to attack a bandit camp to their return takes 4-5min
    The process of getting all units needed for adventure to be delivered to a zone requires dealing with a series of 30min waits.

I understand some aspects of free online games is tedious tasks and time sinks. The problem for me is the game isnt something you can sit down and play for 1 hour a day to get the most out of it, nor is it something you can just log in for 2-3min a few times a day. Why not? Well due to the way adventures work and the way prospecting must be done for the various types.

Adventures are really rather poor experiences in my opinion. I dont mind the home map and city building/management being a bit tedious if the adventures were an exciting reward for all that effort, but adventures are fantastically tedious, many, many 30min travel waits and 3-5min fighting waits. Then the nature of units required for each fight, that is also tedious and lacks any play enjoyment. I stopped watching the battle reports a long, long time ago, even they are tedious experiences, completely predictable and too much timing between each phase.