Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 15 1 2 3 11 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 145

Thread: [FIXED] Population and military count are incorrect

  1. #1
    Ruler of the Land Fexno's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    2,101
    World
    Sandycove

    [FIXED] Population and military count are incorrect

    Short description:
    The numbers shown beneath "Population limit" and "Military units" are incorrect. You can check this yourself by just counting all military units yourself.

    Screenshot:


    Explanation by screenshot:
    The population tooltip in my screenshot is telling me that my total population is 2967 below my 'Population Limit'. It also tells me that I only have 3095 'Military units'

    BUT if you manually count the military units I get
    Code:
    1100 Recruits
     900 Bowmen
     600 Militia
     750 Cavalry
     200 Longbowmen
     500 Soldiers
     500 Crossbowmen
     600 Elite Soldiers
     500 Cannoneers
      80 Attack Infantry
      80 Attack Archers
      80 Attack Cavalry
      50 Heavy Infantry
      50 Heavy Archers
      80 Heavy Cavalry
    --------------------
    6070 Military Units
    Instead of counting all separate units you can also use the 4 numbers behind 'Unassigned Units' and 'Assigned Units'
    So while I actually have 6070 military units the number showing tells me 3095, thus showing 2975 units less than I actually have.
    The total population can be calculating be adding the manually counted 'Military Units' (6070), the 'Working Settlers' (316) and the 'Unemployed Settlers' (232) making the total of settlers I actually have 6618. (8 above my usual population limit, because my population has been growing since my total population count was changed)

    Immediate problem:
    None, you can temporarily have more population then normal

    Future problem:
    IF you train all that additional population into troops, you might not be getting new settlers as soon as the military units count (and thus the total population count) is showing the correct number again. You can 'solve' this however by doing enough adventures so your military gets back to its normal size. As far as I understand the only way to get the military units count correct again is by losing enough troops so the actual amount of military units equals the shown 'Military Units'. In this case that would mean losing 2975 troops. Not sure if my understanding is correct, since the 'Military Units' count decreases when you lose units.

    Prevention
    If you want to be sure that you have no problem when the 'Military Units' (and thus the total population count) is showing the correct number again, then make sure you don't train a lot more military then you normally have. To calculate your normal amount of military take the 'Population Limit' and subtract 'Unemployed Settlers' and 'Working Settlers'. So in the case of the screenshot above 6610-232-316=6062.


    In the hope I explained things and didn't make the confusion worse.
    -- Fexno

    Spoiler

    Short description:
    The population count is weird. If you look at the screenshot you'll see that there are more settlers in the military then actual population. The count of working settlers is lower (can even be a negative amount) then the amount of buildings that require a settler and actually are using a settler. There are also unemployed settlers.

    Screenshot:


    Possible cause:
    Might have something to do with logging out while a there are buildings without a settler.

    Prevention:
    Unknown

    Workaround:
    Unknown

    Related:
    Original thread(s): 1
    Last edited by Fexno; 09.12.14 at 21:44.

  2. #2
    Ruler of the Land Fexno's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    2,101
    World
    Sandycove
    Updates
    [2014-01-28] Added

  3. #3
    Ruler of the Land Thejollyone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    in absentia
    Posts
    1,963
    World
    Sandycove
    this may have to do with demolishing nobles then building higher population buildings straight afterwards when your population was already at max prior to knocking them down....

    I did this for the frozen manors and currently have 10480 pop, 14 unemployed settlers, -92 working settlers and an army of 10558, which far exceeds the pop total and continues to do so even when troops are rebuilt after an adventure.

  4. #4
    Nifty Rieux1972's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    London
    Posts
    59
    World
    Northisle
    Last edited by Rieux1972; 28.01.14 at 13:19. Reason: correct image

  5. #5
    Ruler of the Land lulu10093's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    North East England
    Posts
    1,363
    World
    Sandycove
    hahaha what about when you have only 47 workers http://prntscr.com/2nc0z5
    YET the island is full of working buildings incl extra for silos/watermills ect that's always awake working http://prntscr.com/2nc1i7
    that's what's weird on mine hehehe

  6. #6
    Skilled Student
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    25
    World
    Newfoundland
    I think this could help.
    "Population Limit" and "Unemployed settlers" have true amounts; "Military units" have a fake amount (here is the error); "Working settlers" is calculated, instead of counted:
    WorkingSettlers = PopulationLimit - (UnemployedSettlers + MilitaryUnits)

    So if I should find the error, I must look at the code where Military Units amount is calculated.

  7. #7
    Quartermaster JessieSun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Zagreb, Croatia
    Posts
    263
    World
    Newfoundland
    Quote Originally Posted by urgabel View Post
    "Military units" have a fake amount (here is the error)
    So you want say that is not true I have that number of army?
    Now I'm afraid to make more army until BB repair this counter.

  8. #8
    Pathfinder
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    3
    World
    Northisle


    This is my issue. Even though I have settlers available, I can't train soldiers.

  9. #9
    Pathfinder
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    1
    World
    Sandycove

    Negative working settlers

    I've got a rather odd situation that despite have many buildings and wells requiring working settlers it appears that I actually have a negative number of workers.
    I think its a display glitch - any thoughts?
    Attached Images

  10. #10
    Battle Hardened Contributor Jamdoggy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Halesowen, England
    Posts
    371
    World
    Sandycove
    Just had this oddness myself, so adding in my screenshots in the hope that they may provide some extra info...

    I have not demolished any residences (as jollyfog2012 suggested above) - I am doing a 'Heroic Little Tailor' adventure, but my troop count is wrong, as you can see below:

    First, my population tooltip:


    Second, my troops in the adventure:


    You can see that my troop count shows 4,111 military units, but if you add up what I've got:
    Home Island: 1,259 troops (total)
    HLT Adventure: 2,052 troops (total)
    The total SHOULD be 3,311 military units...

    I then waited for a short while, and the population tooltip showed:


    I then built 3 copper mines, and the tooltip showed:

Reply to Thread

Similar Threads

  1. Something is still wrong with population count
    By IainC in forum Bugs & Technical Issues
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 30.07.14, 12:49
  2. [INFO] No new settlers / population count
    By Fexno in forum Bugs & Technical Issues
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 13.03.14, 09:14
  3. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 08.03.14, 01:17
  4. Incorrect in-game notification
    By MivaMiv in forum Bugs & Technical Issues
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 31.08.13, 22:46
  5. incorrect login
    By Sharonna in forum Bugs & Technical Issues
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 25.08.13, 10:03

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts

Ubisoft uses cookies to ensure that you get the best experience on our websites. By continuing to use this site you agree to accept these cookies. More info on our privacy.