Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: My experience with expeditions

Pathfinder
    World
    Newfoundland

My experience with expeditions

When I first became curious about expeditions there was little constructive info on this topic. All the posts I found were from people who had tried it in 2014 or so and had already made their minds about not playing PvP. So I thought as somebody who has played it fairly recently maybe I give an account of how it worked out for me.

I started playing colonies when I was on lvl 36 and during the Holloween event 2016. At the time I did not have any other viable options to gain titanium to slay Golems and that was my last resort and it actually solved my problem. After that I stopped playing adventures because they had become boring and again I needed titanium to train crossbowmen to do the more interesting ones.

During those two month I saw the following things happen:

1) First of all, let me tell you that there has been a couple of improvement since 2014 for expeditions. Training units is generally cheaper and faster now, and the rewards from the conquest of colonies are somewhat higher. The points that follow are by considering these improvements.

2) Doing colonies and adventures at the same time is a terrible idea. With the cap on the number of troops that you can fit on your island, doing both means you are going to be incompetent at both.

3) Colonies do not give you enough XP. In the two months that I played PvP, players in my guild who were on a lower level and only did adventures had so much progress that now I stand a staggering 7 levels below them (I am on lvl 43 BTW). Getting on higher levels in general has an exponential effect on your economic growth, i.e. new explorer capabilities, new buildings, etc, while PvP levels do not unlock anything.