Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 24

Thread: Mobile platforms

  1. #1
    Keen Commentor Syltom1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    159
    World
    Newfoundland

    Mobile platforms

    Well, I asked this question 4 years ago on Heroes Online forum, but I would like to ask it again here. Do you have any plan to run this game, and any web-based games of BB, on mobile devices such as smart phones or tablets? Nowadays, mobile devices are more popular and strong enough to run heavy-taxed games. I'm sure it will make the games more popular; and for me, I can manage my island anywhere.
    Last edited by Syltom1; 26.04.17 at 15:11.

  2. #2
    Ruler of the Land
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Cotswolds in UK
    Posts
    1,478
    World
    Northisle
    Load Puffin browser and you can play on smart phones and tablets

  3. #3
    Community Manager
    Ruler of the Land BB_Saqui's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Posts
    1,764
    World
    Newfoundland
    Quote Originally Posted by Syltom1 View Post
    Well, I asked this question 5 years ago on Heroes Online forum, but I would like to ask it again here. Do you have any plan to run this game, and any web-based games of BB, on mobile devices such as smart phones or tablets? Nowadays, mobile devices are more popular and strong enough to run heavy-taxed games. I'm sure it will make the games more popular; and for me, I can manage my island anywhere.
    Thanks for your interest! At the time being, we have no plans to bring "The Settlers Online" to mobiles via a dedicated app, but we certainly value people expressing their desire for it. As Lordloocan suggested, there are unofficial ways of playing the game via smartphones and/or tablets - however since it isn't supported, your experience may vary.

  4. #4
    Ruler of the Land TheVictorious's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    1,078
    World
    Sandycove
    For android tablets you can have a usb mouse attached to it (called OTG cable) :

    Hello People

  5. #5
    Keen Commentor Syltom1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    159
    World
    Newfoundland
    Many thanks for the advice. I'm sorry for bothering to ask one more question. Does anyone know if there is a network adapter for Android (Samsung) smartphone and tablet?

    I found this, but it can't be used for my smartphone and tablet.
    Last edited by Syltom1; 26.04.17 at 07:17.

  6. #6
    Community Manager
    Ruler of the Land BB_Saqui's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Posts
    1,764
    World
    Newfoundland
    What are you trying to do with your smartphone?

  7. #7
    Keen Commentor Syltom1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    159
    World
    Newfoundland
    I can play Settlers Online with Puffin browser on my smart phone now. However, the Internet service on my smart phone is not so great, so I wonder if I can somehow use the ethernet cable at my home for it.

    I don't even know if it's possible, I just wonder if there is a cable to connect my router to my smartphone.

    Last edited by Syltom1; 26.04.17 at 11:54.

  8. #8
    Community Manager
    Ruler of the Land BB_Saqui's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Posts
    1,764
    World
    Newfoundland
    Quote Originally Posted by Syltom1 View Post
    I can play Settlers Online with Puffin browser on my smart phone now. However, the Internet service on my smart phone is not so great, so I wonder if I can somehow use the ethernet cable at my home for it.

    I don't even know if it's possible, I just wonder if there is a cable to connect my router to my smartphone.

    Your smartphone should support wireless capabilities to connect to your router via Wi-Fi, no?

  9. #9
    Keen Commentor Syltom1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    159
    World
    Newfoundland
    Quote Originally Posted by BB_Saqui View Post
    Your smartphone should support wireless capabilities to connect to your router via Wi-Fi, no?
    Yeah, unfortunately, I don't have WiFi or WLAN in my dorm. We are provided only an Internet socket on the wall and connect with a cable to computer.
    Last edited by Syltom1; 26.04.17 at 12:06.

  10. #10
    Community Manager
    Ruler of the Land BB_Saqui's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Posts
    1,764
    World
    Newfoundland
    Quote Originally Posted by Syltom1 View Post
    Yeah, unfortunately, I don't have WiFi or WLAN in my dorm. We are provided only an Internet socket and connect with a cable to computer.
    Ah I see, that's a shame. May I ask if you're required to "log in" to your dorms internet (most likely via a proxy)?

Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts

Ubisoft uses cookies to ensure that you get the best experience on our websites. By continuing to use this site you agree to accept these cookies. More info on our privacy.