Reply to Thread

Thread: Looking for advice re:Geologists

Original Serf
    World
    Sandycove

Looking for advice re:Geologists

I'm fairly new to the game (been playing just over a week) and I'm enjoying, except that is, Geologists, they are just annoying me, and getting more annoyed by them each day.

My mines and quarries run out it feel like every day, or perhaps every other day (build them to level 2), and I have send out the Geologists to find more, but even with 3 of them, I'm having to keep sending them out pretty much constantly, if I'm online (and I'm normally online 12 hours a day) I need to make sure they are out finding deposits. It's boring, repetitious and doesn't seem to me to add anything to game play.

I do know about deposit refills, but the only place I see them are on the Trade Office and the prices demanded are not only out of my reach, but I'm trying to understand how or why they are that valuable.

So I guess I'm missing or misunderstanding something? Anyone care to enlighten me?

Erudite Pioneer
    World
    Sandycove
    Geologists are something you will spend many hours sending out. You will be able to speed them up eventually by reading enough books to them. You can also buy some (with gems) that are twice as fast, or ones that will find two deposits at once. Some adventures give refills as reward, or you can buy them in trade as you say, or also in merchant (but personally I would never spend gems on refills). For gold, iron and coal I have one big mine of each (used to be level 6, later on I swapped them for industrial mines) that I do not have open all the time. I use the refills for these mines and put a good buff on them when I do have them open. The other coal and iron mines, and copper, stone and marble - just keep doing exactly what you are doing.

Pathfinder
    World
    Northisle
    ^^this....and dont forget with all production to check economy overview....do you need all production running?