Reply to Thread
Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3
Results 21 to 28 of 28

Thread: Flash ending in 2020

  1. #21
    Keen Commentor Syltom1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    159
    World
    Newfoundland

    Adobe will terminate Flash in 2020

    From what I heard, Adobe will terminate Flash in 2020. I also got a notification from Google Chrome that they will remove Flash in 2020. So, I am a bit worried about the future of this game.

    Will it be like the old Windows that you can still use it but no more update nor support from the company, or BlueByte will move to another platform?

    Merged
    Last edited by MOD_Daz; 15.08.19 at 12:35.

  2. #22
      Jolly Advisor
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Posts
    183
    World
    Northisle
    Quote Originally Posted by Syltom1 View Post
    From what I heard, Adobe will terminate Flash in 2020. I also got a notification from Google Chrome that they will remove Flash in 2020. So, I am a bit worried about the future of this game.

    Will it be like the old Windows that you can still use it but no more update nor support from the company, or BlueByte will move to another platform?

    Merged
    Every clues we had from BB and MOds go to the direction of the old windows :'(

  3. #23
      Jolly Advisor
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Posts
    183
    World
    Northisle

    Stay secure !

    Don't forget flash updates !

    A new flash version has been released, to stop critical security risks :
    https://helpx.adobe.com/security/pro...apsb19-46.html


    Merged
    Last edited by MOD_Daz; 10.09.19 at 17:14.

  4. #24
    Nifty
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Ankh Morpork
    Posts
    58
    World
    Sandycove
    Firefox has now removed the option to always run flush on a web site.

  5. #25
    Forum Explorer Kotugo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    320
    World
    Northisle
    looks like adobe AIR is being discontinued too, not much point in moving over to that. Adobe HARMAN is the next thing to look at. From one of the pages for it:

    Adobe Flash Player will no longer be supported by Adobe or by any standard browsers beyond 2020. However, if the enterprise customers require Flash Player, then HARMAN will be able to offer them a solution that combines the regular Flash Player with customer’s SWF application. This will allow for a useful stop-gap for existing applications to continue to be used with little or no modifications, whilst long term plans for migration away from the Flash content are put into action.

    HARMAN also offers alternative deployment and licensing models for Flash Player, for companies wishing to embed Flash Player into their own hardware or software products.

  6. #26
    Pathfinder
    Join Date
    Aug 2019
    Posts
    3
    World
    Newfoundland
    If you're using the Game Installer and not the Browser to play the game you need to install this Adobe Flash Player for Firefox from Adobe website.

    https://get.adobe.com/flashplayer/otherversions/

    Step 1:
    Operating System: Select Windows 10

    Step2:
    Select a version: FP 32 for Firefox - NPAPI

    Follow the prompts. Should be all set ;-)

  7. #27
    Ruler of the Land Thejollyone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    in absentia
    Posts
    2,035
    World
    Sandycove
    I cant get the standalone to run the game any more. I get a blue flash as if it's start up then the screen goes black and I get a progression meter run at the bottom of the page and then..... nothing but a black screen. Doesn't matter what setting I use either.

  8. #28
    Pathfinder
    Join Date
    Aug 2019
    Posts
    3
    World
    Newfoundland
    If your using VLC Player it might conflict with the Settlers client. Here are the steps:

    1. Uninstall VLC Player.

    2. The Settlers client should work now.

    3. If you need VLC Player, re-install it but when you get to the Prompt of selecting options, uncheck the following.

    - Mozilla Plugins

    - ActiveX Plugins

    4. VLC Player and The Settlers Online client should work without conflicting.

Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts

Ubisoft uses cookies to ensure that you get the best experience on our websites. By continuing to use this site you agree to accept these cookies. More info on our privacy.