Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Thread: Possible to attack with less than 20% losses?

Nifty
    World
    Sandycove

Possible to attack with less than 20% losses?

I'm just starting out, trying to take out my 4th sector, and I'm trying to work out if it's possible to have a big enough army to take out a bandit camp with less than 20% losses. But I haven't managed to get any combat preview result other than "acceptable losses, you'll lose between 20% and 50% of your units" - I certainly don't consider 50% acceptable for a start!
    If not, then is there some guideline as to how many units I should attack with to minimize the absolute number lost? E.g. if I send in 200 and I'll definitely lose 40 (20%), I'd rather send in just 100 and possibly lose 30 (30%).
    And if you do always suffer at least 20% losses, does that mean at least 20% of your units should be cheapest type (recruits - they seem to the ones that get sacrificed first)?
    TIA

Nifty
    World
    Sandycove
    BTW I tried out 150 units against a bandit camp with 70 units.
    I lost 26 recruits and 7 bowmen, so that's basically just over 20%.
    Not great but at least recruits are cheap. But the combat preview had suggested I might lose between 20% and 50% even with only 100 of my own units, so I wonder how many I might have lost if I'd attacked with just that.

Don't suppose there's a way to "save" game state and restore/undo to it?

Keen Commentor
    World
    Northisle
    Combat preview is an indication, if you want more exact numbers, use a 3rd party sim(ulator).
    For instance: Battle Sim

And no, you cannot save prior to a battle and retry. What's done is done
    Last edited by copycat71; 15.01.22 at 08:55.

Jolly Advisor
    World
    Sandycove

World
    Newfoundland
    Quote Originally Posted by Usermaatre View Post